Skip to content

State Directors

Expand your potential as a legislative leader in your state by serving as a Women In Government State Director.
Apply to fill a Women In Government State Director vacancy today and take advantage of these benefits:
  • Visibility across Women In Government’s communications channels
  • Leadership and professional development opportunities
  • Invitations to exclusive learning and community-building activities
  • Recognition during a Women In Government State Capitol visit
  • Leveraging policy expertise on individual issues with legislators in all 50 states
  • Participation in the Women In Government Board of Directors leadership pipeline

Women In Government’s State Directors play an integral role in cultivating a network of women state legislators that amplify the work of female lawmakers nationwide. State Directors inform Women In Government of current, critical policy issues in their states and assist in communicating Women In Government’s programming and opportunities to their legislator colleagues.

Women In Government aims to fill 4 State Director positions in every state, with balance across party and chamber, in keeping with our mission. All State Director applications are approved by Women In Government’s all-legislator Board of Directors. If your party and chamber is already represented by another State Director, we encourage you to nominate a colleague from your state. We also encourage legislators to nominate colleagues in other states and spread the word about this opportunity!

For any questions about the Women In Government State Director program, please contact:  Maura LaGue, Managing Director at or call (202) 916-8757.

2022 Women In Government State Directors

Alabama (S)
Representative Laura Hall (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

Alaska (W)
Rep. Sara Hannan (D)
◼◼◼Open Seats (3)

Arizona (W)
Rep. Jennifer Pawlik (D)
Sen. Victoria Steele (D)
◼◼Open Seats (2)

Arkansas (S)
Rep. Denise Garner (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

California (W)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Colorado (W)
Rep. Kim Ransom (R)
Rep. Naquetta Ricks (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Connecticut (E)
Rep. Michelle Cook (D)
Rep. Robyn Porter (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Delaware (E)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Florida (S)
Rep. Jackie Toledo (R)
Rep. Marie Woodson (D)
Sen. Lori Berman (D)
◼ Open Seat (1)

Georgia (S)
Rep. Karen Bennett (D)
Rep. Sheila Jones (D)
Sen. Tonya Anderson (D)
◼Open Seat (1)

Hawaii (W)
Rep. Della Au Belatti (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

Idaho (W)
Rep. Tammy Nichols (R)
Rep. Julie Yamamoto (R)
Sen. Christy Zito (R)
◼ Open Seat (1)

Illinois (M)
Rep. Sonya Harper (D)
Sen. Cristina Castro (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Indiana (M)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Iowa (M)
Rep. Mary Mascher (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

Kansas (M)
Rep. Stephanie Clayton (D)
Sen. Elaine Bowers (R)
Sen. Pat Pettey (D)
◼ Open Seat (1)

Kentucky (S)
Rep. Rachel Roberts (D)
Rep. Nancy Tate (R)
Sen. Alice Forgy Kerr (R)
◼ Open Seat (1)

Louisiana (S)
Rep. Aimee Adatto Freeman (D)
Rep. Barbara Freiberg (R)
Sen. Regina Barrow (D)
◼ Open Seat (1)

Maine (E)
Rep. Michelle Dunphy (D)
Sen. Susan Deschambault (D)
Sen. Lisa Keim (R)
Sen. Kim Rosen (R)

Maryland (E)
Del. Chanel Branch (D)
Del. Nicole Williams (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Massachusetts (E)
Rep. Kimberly Ferguson (R)
Rep. Danielle Gregoire (D)
Rep. Hannah Kane (R)
Sen. Harriette Chandler (D)

Michigan (M)
Rep. Sarah Anthony (D)
Sen. Sylvia Santana (D)
Rep. Brenda Carter (D)
◼ Open Seat (1)

Minnesota (M)
Sen. Sandy Pappas (D)
Rep. Ruth Richardson (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Mississippi (S)
Rep. Omeria Scott (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

Missouri (M)
Rep. Gretchen Bangert (D)
Rep. Cyndi Buchheit-Courtway (R)
Rep. Barbara Phifer (D)
Rep. Cheri Toalson Reisch (R)

Montana (W)
Rep. Andrea Olsen (D)
Sen. JP Pomnichowski (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Nebraska (M)
Sen. Anna Wishart (NP)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

Nevada (W)
Sen. Dallas Harris (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

New Hampshire (E)
Rep. Fran Nutter-Upham (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

New Jersey (E)
Asm. Pamela Lampitt (D)
Asm. Shavonda Sumter (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

New Mexico (W)
Rep. Deborah Armstrong (D)
Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

New York (E)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

North Carolina (S)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

North Dakota (M)
Rep. Pamela Anderson (D)
Sen. Joan Heckaman (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Ohio (M)
Rep. Bride Rose Sweeney (D)
Sen. Nickie Antonio (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Oklahoma (M)
Rep. Jadine Nollan (R)
Rep. Melissa Provenzano (D)
Sen. Jessica Garvin (R)
Sen. Carri Hicks (D)

Oregon (W)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Pennsylvania (E)
Rep. Donna Oberlander (R)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

Rhode Island (E)
Rep. Barbara Ann Fenton-Fung (R)
Rep. Deborah Ruggiero (D)
◼◼Open Seats (2)

South Carolina (S)
Rep. Beth Bernstein (D)
Rep. Annie McDaniel (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

South Dakota (M)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Tennessee (S)
Rep. Mary Littleton (R)
Sen. Raumesh Akbari (D)
Sen. Brenda Gilmore (D)
Sen. Becky Massey (R)

Texas (W)
Rep. Alma Allen (D)
Rep. Toni Rose (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Utah (W)
Rep. Clare Collard (D)
Sen. Karen Mayne (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Vermont (E)
Rep. Felisha Leffler (R)
Rep. Linda Joy Sullivan (D)
◼◼ Open Seats (2)

Virginia (S)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Washington (W)
Rep. Gina Mosbrucker (R)
Sen. Patty Kuderer (D)
Rep. TIna Orwall (D)
◼ Open Seats (1)

West Virginia (E)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Wisconsin (M)
Rep. Lisa Subeck (D)
◼◼◼ Open Seats (3)

Wyoming (W)
◼◼◼◼ Open Seats (4)

Sign up for Women In Government’s newsletter today to stay informed on upcoming events, special announcements and so much more.